Cover Letter

Writing a cover letter was a real struggle for me, not knowing what I want to do meant I didn’t know which role to write about never mind where was I applying. For the mock interview we had to make belief a job we were applying therefore I applied for a generalist. See below;

Hi!

My name is Aisling McElroy; I’m an animation student in Ulster University’s Belfast School of Art. I’m currently looking for a six to ten month placement in the coming months. Please find attached a link to my website where you can find out a little bit more about who I am, my portfolio and my showreel.

I consider myself to be a hard working individual and a key team member that is willing to take initiative when needed. I would love to further develop the skills I’ve learnt and gain more experience in the animation industry by (hopefully) joining your company. I feel like the smaller details are always the most important which pushes me to have an interest in set design, pre and post production, animation, cg modeling, pretty much a taste for all aspects of the development of a project. I would welcome any opportunity to meet and be grateful for a chance to show you my work and give you a better taste of who I am and what I can bring to you. I’m excited to hear back from you!

Thanks,

Aisling

After the mock interview in a meeting with Sixteen South, Colin and Michelle mentioned production management and explained the role and what it entailed.  They thought I would be good at it, and after telling us about their production manager Megan it seemed that we were both very similar, personality and work ethic wise. I got the chance to meet with her in our last meeting and she told me more about the role. I’m still figuring out the industry roles and where I think I would like to go but production management is definitely something I’ll be looking into the only downfall is I won’t be able to create things and animate but there is always the option of personal work.

Leave a Reply

